top of page

He Asked For 10%


There’s always been this debate about whether or not Christians should pay their tithes. We’ve all had our challenges with paying tithe here and there sometimes. I’ve had my fair share anyway. I was born into a Christian family but only started tithing at 15. £5 here and there was chill. Not gonna lie. But it wasn’t until I started to properly earn and that one figure turned into three. And the money felt too good to put in an envelope and drop on the altar. I never understood tithing. I just did it. Because it was the “Christian thing to do” with your income. “What happens if I just stopped?” The thought came about. But I was quick to dismiss it with this thought instead: I’ve been tithing all these years and have seen all the progress I’ve made; all the blessings I’ve received; all the knowledge of The Word I’ve gained; all the revelation of The Word I’ve gained. So. WHY. STOP. NOW. It’s financially inconvenient all the time, but the inconvenience doesn’t compare to the blessings that pour in. Malachi 3:10 “Bring all the tithes into the storehouse so there will be enough food in my Temple. If you do,” says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, “I will open the windows of heaven for you. I will pour out a blessing so great you won’t have enough room to take it in! Try it! Put me to the test!” I just see it this way yeah, God can’t open them windows of heaven He talks about if you’re not tithing. Man can't fulfil that promise. He’s even saying ‘test me and see’. That’s cos He knows His own people have so much doubt in giving Him this thing they see as a massive gamble, this thing that doesn’t make sense to the senses, this thing that is so inconvenient but is tied to a decent blessing, “So do I, or do I not?”. Here's the great thing about this He knows the struggle but He still tells us to do it. I see security in that, don't know about you. My God doesn't tell me to do something that would make me suffer in vain. Blessings are always on the other side of obedience. Blessings are always on the other side of actions. Nobody gets blessed by sitting down and doing nothing. Stop saying I can’t afford it. Start saying, “By faith I’m paying bills,” “By faith I’m paying my tithe,” “By faith I’m fulfilling my financial responsibilities.” Then give God a gentle reminder that “Lord as I’m doing this, it’s not my responsibility to bless myself. I remember your promise.” Have the freedom to change. Have the freedom to make a difference. Have the freedom to trust God with your finances.


bottom of page