top of page

Masked


My next door neighbour practices scream therapy in his shower every morning.

The first time I heard him, I was debating on the wisdom of whether or not to dial 999. It was very different from living above Mr and Mrs. Smith and their two sons.

The first time I heard him scream; I put my ear to our shared wall and listened for a good three minutes.

Like the wheels of a car spinning out on the asphalt he continued to scream.

Screaming is a jet; it’s loud and noisy and will eventually pass.

But this scream was the scream of an utterly tormented soul on the verge of complete brokenness.

“Wojciech? I heard someone screaming this morning, and it was coming from your flat.”

He drew his neck back, shook his head and went back inside looking like he had no clue of what I was on about. I knew for a fact that it was his voice I heard.

He’s a lonely man.

He’s a lonely man who walks the street in a big world of his own.

He’s a lonely man who walks in confusion.

He’s a lonely man wondering if he’s ever going to be found.

I begin to wonder if he will ever open up. I edge near him with the opening line of, “Do you wanna talk about it?” - does that thing with his neck again where he draws it back and responds with the fact that he forgot to get the grated cheese for his cottage pie.

He’s a strange and lonely man I tell you. He does things I don’t even know how to explain.

I need more information.

I watch out for clues. The windows are barricaded by thick, flowery curtains.

Who is he?

Am I the only to notice such strange activity? If so call me crazy now.

Enough is enough.

The confusion has endured and lasted long enough.

I’m at the door. Ringing. Knocking. Nothing.

The door opens when I insisted on the doorknob. It was left unlocked. On entering the hall, I searched everywhere with my eyes. In the kitchen. Lying on the floor. His back supported by the laminate.

You may not know the person next to you is wearing a mask. The outward man isn’t enough evidence to tell us if our neighbours are doing okay. Don’t take the love of God shed abroad in your heart for granted. Check up on that person. Absolutely everybody needs reassurance of love.


bottom of page